Posted by STATTO on January 04, 1998 at 15:55:44:
Do you actually make up your own mind about coincidental penalties as you go along??
Here you are then, the OFFICIAL version from the rule book.
PLEASE READ SLOWLY - IT MAY EVEN STAY IN YOUR MIND !!
Rule 402 (d)
When ONE Minor Penalty is assessed to ONE player on EACH team at the same stoppage of play, these penalties will be served WITHOUT SUBSTITUTION provided both teams are at full strength on the ice (5 on 5).
IN OTHER WORDS NOT COINCIDENTAL - GOT IT !!!
Unless para. one of this rule is applicable, when Coincident Minor Penalties of equal duration are imposed against players of both teams, the penalized players shall all take their places on the penalty benches and such penalized players shall not leave the penalty bench until the first stoppage of play following the expiry of their respective penalties.
Immediate substitution shall be made for an equal number of of Minor Penalties or Coincident Minor Penalties of equal duration to each team so penalized and the penalties of the players for whom substitutions have been made shall not be taken into account for the purposes of the delayed penalty rule (408).
MIGHT BE EASIER MR LANDERS IF YOU READ MY PREVIOUS MAIL AGAIN AND DIGEST IT THIS TIME BEFORE SPOUTING FORTH WITH INACCURATE STATEMENTS THAT WILL ONLY CONFUSE FOLK WHO GENUINLY WISH TO LEARN THE RULE.
me thinks you miss the point totally. The ref. has NO discretion on the number of players on the ice or in the penalty bench. He obviously makes the call as to whether a penalty is a minor or double minor or whatever(if that's what you are trying to say)but that's it.
Maybe you should ask an official if you do not believe me !!
Otherwise, think before you comment on something you clearly know nothing about.
Hope you've learned something !!
Post a Followup